Winner of the 2024 Honorary Fellowship

Clarity the hi-fi industry trade association, honoured Ivor Tiefenbrun during the annual Hi-Fi Industry Conference in early May, with its Honorary Fellowship award, and announced the winners of the inaugural Clarity Hi-Fi Industry Awards.

Each year Clarity recognises an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the UK hi-fi industry. The eighth annual Honorary Fellowship was bestowed upon the enigmatic founder of Linn Products Ltd. and designer of the legendary Linn Sondek LP12 turntable.

For the first time, the awards programme was opened up to members of the industry for them to nominate people they felt should be recognised in different categories. The Honorary Fellowship category received a number of nominations, all worthy in their own way, but with Ivor Tiefenbrun receiving the most nominations it was clear that his achievements resonate with many people in the hi-fi industry. Announcing the award, the Clarity’s operations manager said, “There are few people who have made such a significant impact on our industry, almost single-handedly changing the way in which the importance of the source in a system is viewed. In developing the LP12, Ivor was determined to extract more information from vinyl, which he believed could be achieved through precision engineering.

“He obviously got it right and testament to his dogged determination and belief is the fact that today, 52 years later the LP12 is still in production and is lauded by many as the best. Many congratulations to Ivor on this thoroughly deserved award.”


The winners in the four other categories, also voted for by members of the industry, were:

‘Best Presented Retail Premises’       - Loud & Clear, Glasgow

‘Best Retail Salesperson’                   - David Mathewson, Fanthorpes

‘Best Manufacturer Representative’   - Jason Gould

‘Most Significant Product Launch’      - Rega Naia Turntable


Elizabeth Gould, Clarity chairman, comments, “We are delighted to be able to recognise the talents and achievements of people in the industry, and even more pleased that these inaugural awards were voted for by the winners’ peers. Congratulations to all our winners.”